Lucy in the Larder

Healhty oatmeal and date scones

I’m about to go overseas for a month and I’m really going to miss my kitchen (well, cooking) – is that odd?  

Feeling the need to bake one more time before I go – I have all of the ingredients on hand to make Teresa Cutter’s oatmeal and honey scones. I’ve made a few adjustments to her recipe; replacing the honey with agave, olive oil with coconut oil and fresh dates with dried cranberries and figs. 

They’re in the oven as I write this and the smell of the orange zest and sweet dried fruits is wafting through the house… Yum! 

These scones are dairy, sugar and wheat free – so don’t expect the traditional white fluffy ones ready to be loaded up with jam and cream – they’re dark, dense and full of fiber and flavor.  

Great for a quick breakfast or a mid-morning snack – they’re quite sweet and moist (due to the banana), so I’m having them with butter, but ricotta and honey would also be lovely.

This entry was published on September 7, 2011 at 11:15 pm. It’s filed under Delicious and healthy!, Lucy's plate, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
