Lucy in the Larder

Waiting at the old port in Mykonos for our (very late) ferry to Paros thinking about our next meal… We haven’t had lunch. A few people around us are eating savoury pastries, so we go on the hunt of one.

It looks like a spanakopita toastie. The pastry isn’t the thin floury filo kind I’m used to – the sheets are thicker and crunchy with the texture of shortcrust. The spinach still has it’s fresh green colour and flavour. It’s so hot the cheese burns my tongue.

The oil on my fingers through the paper bag tells me this isn’t a meal for every day, but it will get me through till dinner.

Delicious.

This entry was published on September 16, 2011 at 2:23 pm. It’s filed under Lucy's plate, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
