Lucy in the Larder

Home made curd cheese pie ($1.19) from our favourite bakery in the Great Market Hall (9th district, Budapest, Hungary). It’s our favorite because unlike the other bakery/cake stalls, they bake all their pastries on site – still a little warm when they’re served to us on the paper plates.

It’s like a sponge cake sandwich. Well cooked, brown and buttery on the outside and filled with a soft, lumpy light cheese with a hint of lemon. Not too sweet… I’d love it with a cup of tea.

*I realise the receipt in this photo shows I purchased cake at 9.23am, but I do have a witness who will testify I only had a small taste of it – a perfectly acceptable amount for what could still be considered ‘breakfast’.

This entry was published on September 23, 2011 at 7:27 am. It’s filed under Lucy's plate, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
