Lucy in the Larder

X marked the spot and a message in Croation of what to order scribbled on my map. We’re in search of what I am told are the best ćevapi (grilled meat dumplings) in Split.

We find the little canteen just outside the old city walls and I point my ordering instructions (my Croation isn’t even worth trying to pronounce it) to the little old lady behind what looks like her kitchen counter.

The inside of my soft Turkish bread-like roll is dipped in meat juices and filled with a spoonful of hot ćevapi, onions and a big dollop of firey orange capsicum salsa (17k/$3).

We sit on the bench outside Kantun Paulina next to the queue of people waiting to order and enjoy some of the best fast food for our last meal in Croatia.

So delicious!

This entry was published on October 2, 2011 at 10:27 am and is filed under Lucy's plate, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
