Lucy in the Larder

Googy egg with dukkah

As much as I love to cook, there are some weekday nights when I get home late, and it’s the last thing I feel like doing. Monday, was one of those nights.

There’s always eggs in the fridge and an emergency stash of Iggy’s sourdough sliced in the freezer so tonight it’s a googy egg with sourdough soilders dripping in French butter and sprinkled with dukkah.

Dukkah is an Egyptian dry mix of roasted nuts, seeds and spices blended finely together. You’ll see it in restaurants served with olive oil to dip your bread in and it makes a great crust for chicken and fish or add it to salads and vegetables for a delicious crunch.

I made dukkah as Christmas gifts a few years ago and there are so many recipe variations – SBS Food offers a few good ones, but below is a really simple one;

2 tbsp cumin seeds (heaped, roasted, crushed)
2 tbsp coriander seeds (heaped, roasted, crushed)
3 tbsp sesame seeds (heaped, roasted, crushed roughly)
3 tbsp pistachios (peeled, heaped, crushed roughly)
large pinch of salt (good salt, like Maldon)
large pinch of pepper (fine ground)

I’m dipping my soilders in the lovely runny egg, then in the dukkah but you could also peel your soft boiled egg and roll it in dukkah if you didn’t want any bread. Or, for something even fancier – roll the soft boiled eggs lightly in flour, then dukkah and deep fry! Serve with crusty bread and goats cheese.

This entry was published on January 17, 2012 at 8:48 am. It’s filed under Delicious and healthy!, Lucy's plate, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Googy egg with dukkah

  1. I’ve seen dukkah made quite a few times. It’s always appealed to me. I’ll have to give it a go. Your version sounds spectacular.

  2. i love reading ur blog lucy!

    Dukkah…. reminds me of time spent with a close friend (major foodie) last year before he and his wife moved away to London. He introduced me to dukkah, simply mixed with the finest olive oil eaten with fresh sourdough… i could easily finish the loaf myself!

    Great simple little treat… I love my eggs like how u pictured above… but i struggle to peel it :(..maybe u can give me some pointers.

Leave a Reply

