Lucy in the Larder

Custard-filled Cornbread

Believe it or not, this recipe actually comes from a cookbook titled, The Breakfast Book, by Marion Cunningham. The inspiration landed in my inbox last week from one of my favourite food blogs – Lottie + Doof and it’s cooking in the oven as I write this…

I can’t say I’ve ever made cornbread (always wanted to), and I’m mad for anything with custard. Almost like magic, a simple cornbread recipe combined with cream creates this deliciousness… the corn meal sinks to the bottom like heavy sand the cream wobbles delicately on top. I don’t quite understand how it happens, but it does.

I’ve just ordered The Breakfast Book from Amazon whiles waiting for the cornbread to cool. Apparently Marion was a champion for making breakfast an important gathering time, but sadly and all too often we’re too busy to come together for meals – this was all before we were all to tied to our i-Phones/Pads/Pods and other electronics. So her solution was this offering of recipes, a collection of her favourite homey classics that you can’t help but want to share with people. I think Marion and I would be good friends…

I’ve only managed to wait 10 minutes cooling time… I’ve snapped a few photos and now I’m going back for a seconds… oh dear, how many people did I promise a piece to at work tomorrow?!

It’s quite a savoury dish – lovely on its own, but that little dash of maple syrup at the end really makes it something special.

Custard-filled cornbread (The Breakfast Book by Marion Cunningham)
Serves: 8; Prep time: 10 minutes; Cook time: 1 hour

2 large eggs
3 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted
3 Tbsp sugar
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups full cream milk
1 1/2 Tbsp white vinegar
1 cup plain flour
3/4 cup yellow cornmeal
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 cup heavy cream

– Pre-heat oven at 190’C. Butter 9-inch round cake time, put it in the oven and let it get hot while you mix the batter.

– Put the eggs in a mixing bowl and add the melted butter. Beat until the mixture is well blended. Add the sugar, salt, milk and vinegar and beat well.

– In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder and baking soda.

– Add the flour mixture to the egg mixture , mix just until the batter is smooth and no lumps remain.

– Pour the batter into the heated dish, then pour the cream into the centre of the batter – don’t stir! Bake for 1 hour or until golden brown. Serve warm with maple syrup.

This entry was published on January 29, 2012 at 10:06 pm. It’s filed under Lucy's plate, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Custard-filled Cornbread

  1. So i was fortunate enough to have a slice of this…

    The custard.. Omg the custard… it brings back wonderful memories… growing up I used to live near this family who owns a dessert vendor (in a vietnamese refugee camp in the philippines)…and the dad used to make the most delicious
    Flan (or crème caramel…french influence in vietnam). Which is my ABSOLUTE FAV DESSERT OF ALL TIME!!
    lol when I was holidaying in vietnam recently, I knew I HAD to have it…so I went all out at one vendor on the street…. And it was still deeeeelish!
    Anyway… my point is… I have not, since being in australia, had proper flan… ppl don’t seem to make it well here?… I tried a few at some spanish and Portuguese restaurants….but it wasn’t the same..until today… although it’s not a the same dessert… ur custard is so spot on I couldn’t help but think of eating a flan corn bread. AMAZING

    Thanks again Luce!

  2. Vicky on said:

    I tried making this on the weekend but I think I left it in the oven too long (our oven is on the blink so I have to leave things in longer than required).
    It tasted great but didn’t have that lovely custard middle.
    I might give it another go when the oven gets fixed.

  3. Pingback: Blueberry cornbread with basil and lime, just because | Lucy in the Larder

Leave a Reply

