Lucy in the Larder

The (trial) Wedding Cake

I’m beginning to think I’ve bitten off more than I can chew (pardon the pun) agreeing to make my brother’s wedding cake…

Admittedly I was honoured when the happy couple bailed me up (literally) the first time I saw them after their engagement, saying almost in unison, “We have a big favour to ask you… we want you to make the wedding cake?”.

Amazing, I think. I’m so excited… “Of course I will!” (can I really make a wedding cake?? hmmm… worry about that later)… “Of course! I’d love to!”.

I’m disappointed in my mother, who when I told her I was going to make said cake, replied “Oh Lucy, don’t be ridiculous… you can-not make a wedding cake!”. But mum, it’s your words of wisdom to me at an early age that ‘if you can read, you can cook’, that I attribute to my whole attitude towards cooking. Thanks for your confidence.

Perhaps she was right…

I decided to make a trial cake for the happy couple, so they can enjoy a cake tasting and I can prove to myself (and mum) that I can in fact make a wedding cake.

A chocolate mud cake with chocolate ganache and a chocolate fudge icing with cake recipe courtesy Planet Cake – this is hands down the best chocolate mud cake recipe ever! And the chocolate ganache filling and white chocolate fudge icing courtesy Donna Hay.

I’m confident up until the moment I realise my mixing bowls really aren’t large enough to cope with the ridiculous amount of molten-choc mixture I’m now dealing with (I’ve doubled the recipe to be safe…). It’s beginning to feel like and episode of Choccywoccydoodah with chocolate  everywhere… up my arms, on the bench… dripping on to my foot and then walked around the kitchen floor… Oh dear. It’s not even in the oven yet and I just want to take all the bake ware into the shower with me and wash all the stickiness off.

Then… no baking paper?? What?? I don’t believe this. The recipe calls for a tin lined with baking paper and greased and there’s only an inch left on my roll. Sh*t.

I find some patty pan cases in the back of the cupboard and decide they’ll have to do, greasing each one individually to line the tin… this better work.

2½ hours later the cake is still baking… It’s nearly 11pm and I’m thinking I might need to set an alarm in case I fall asleep. God my flat smells good…

Icing the cake takes place the next day. The cake is so moist and lovely its good for a couple of days, which is just one of the reasons I love this recipe – the other is that it’s not too sweet. Normally I’d like to eat it with something a bit tart like creme fraiche, but this will be just fine smothered in light fluffy chocolate fudge icing to best resemble a wedding cake.

I do need to get myself a proper icing spatula… but I think we might almost have a successful (trial) wedding cake!

I’ve decorated it with some little silver hearts – not the planned decoration for the big-day, but I love those sugary silver balls and I’m a romantic, so I couldn’t resist.

The happy couple are so cute, they even cut the cake together…

PS. Without giving too many secrets about the big-day away – how handsome is the navy and white stripe bow tie that my brother will be wearing?! He’s got just over a month to learn how to tie it now.

Taste test, tick of approval.

Stand-by for the real thing next month…

Planet Cake mud cake 
Serves: 8-10; Prep time; 20 minutes; Cook time; 2 1/2 hours

500ml water
600g sugar
320g plain flour
60g self raising flour
375g unsalted butter
40g cocoa powder
3 eggs, lightly beaten
250g dark chocolate
–       Pre-heat oven to moderately slow, 160’C. Grease a 20cm square cake tine, line base and line sides with baking paper. Combine water and sugar in a medium saucepan and heat until the sugar has dissolved.

–       Remove the saucepan from the heat and add the chopped butter and chocolate. Stir constantly until all ingredients are combined and smooth. Allow the mixture to cool to room temperature. Sift the flours and cocoa powder together, gently fold into the mixture.

–       Fold in eggs one at a time until smooth. Poor the mixture into prepared pan. Bake in a moderately slow oven for about 2 1/2 hours. To test insert a skewer into the cake when it comes out clean the cake is ready. Allow cake to cool completely before removing from tin.

Donna Hay chocolate ganache

375ml pouring cream
340g dark chocolate

–       Place cream in a saucepan over medium heat and bring to the boil. Remove from heat and add finely chopped chocolate. Allow to melt slightly and then stir until glossy and smooth. Set aside to cool. Spread over chilled cake or between layers of cake.  Or roll into balls to make truffles.

Donna Hay chocolate fudge icing

70g butter
125ml pouring cream
250g white chocolate

–       Place chocolate, cream and butter in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. Stir until melted and smooth. Remove and set aside to cool completely then beat with an electric beater until thick and fluffy. Spread over a chilled cake. *To make dark chocolate fudge icing substitute dark chocolate for the white chocolate.

This entry was published on February 4, 2012 at 3:27 pm. It’s filed under Lucy's plate, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

12 thoughts on “The (trial) Wedding Cake

  1. You will do a great job!

  2. The cake looks great and sounds delicious! What a special way to be a part of your brother’s wedding!

  3. Surely not?! It’s so pretty and must be tasty! You’re a good sister. I want to make my own wedding cake when the time comes around 😀

  4. Pingback: When my little brother got married and I made a wedding cake « Lucy in the Larder

  5. I can almost taste this cake from your description & photos Lucy! A quick question … my gas, fan forced oven tends to cook quickly, & I’m worried that if I cook the cake for 2.5 hours at 160C it will be dry & rubber-y. I guess I just need reassurance!
    Thanks, Jo

    • Hi Jo, I made this cake in my dodgy electric oven and it still turned out great. The mixture is so dense and moist, but if you’re worried about it drying out, maybe keep an eye on it around the 2hr mark and test to see how it’s cooking as it may need less time in your over. Just give it a go, I know it will be delicious! Lucy

  6. Rebecca on said:

    How did you go with the actual wedding cake? I’m dying to find out and see pics, but I can’t seem to find that you have posted it? I’m making my sisters wedding cake probably something similar to what you did and so am especially excited to see how yours turned out! xoxox Bec

  7. I just attempted a two tier cake for a friends baby shower! I can relate to this post in so many ways! Lol

Leave a Reply

