Lucy in the Larder

Currant Loaf

An email landed in my inbox last week inviting me to take part in a recipe exchange ‘thingo’. The idea behind it was that, as we get older, food cooked at home becomes more important so lets share the recipes the quick and easy recipes we’ve enjoyed at home time and time again.

In a nutshell; you send a recipe – something quick, easy and without rare ingredients – the best recipe is the one you know in your head and can type right now, to 20 friends and ask them to forward it on (replacing the recipe recipients name in position #1 with your name) and watch the recipes roll in.

Food is always best when it’s shared, so I loved the idea of sharing recipes – taking a peek into someone elses kitchen and being gifted some tried and tested favourites to add to your own repertoire.

Happily I forwarded it on and a few interesting recipes came back in response (it wasn’t everyones bag). What I loved the most were the stories that came with them – recipes that were handed down generations, childhood favourites, or the first recipe their mum taught them to cook. When I think of food I love, I remember how I felt at the time of eating it and felt about the people I was cooking and eating it with.

The recipe I liked the most was from my friends mum for her Currant Loaf. She prefaced it with; “Here is a boring recipe, but one I have never changed. I have used this recipe more than most any other, for a school fete and morning and afternoon teas. Melanie and Amelia agree that at school it was always the first to go – sliced with a good spread of butter. Oh, and sooooo easy!.”

I loved finding my mum’s slices wrapped in greaseproof paper in my lunchbox for ‘little lunch’ (ah two lunches, one little and one big – those were the days) at school. Chocolate slice was our favourite with a biscuit and sultana base and melted chocolate top, then Cocount slice with jam and Date slice with soft dates sandwiched between a biscuit crumble.

This simple Currant Loaf was easy to make and although the cake itself is a little dry, it’s packed full of juicy currants and perfect lashed with some good unsalted butter.

Pull out your favourite recipe and start your own recipe exchange or just make some Currant Loaf for ‘little lunch’.Currant Loaf 
Makes: 1 loaf; Prep time: 5 minutes (plus soaking overnight); Cook time: 1 ½ hours 

375g currants 
1 cup cold tea
1 cup sugar 
1 egg 
2 cups self raising flour 

– Soak the currants overnight in the tea and sugar mixture. Preheat oven at 180’ and grease a loaf cake tin. Mix in the flour and egg into currant, tea and sugar mixture. Bake for 1 ½ hours or until cooked (test with a skewer).

This entry was published on February 23, 2012 at 9:19 am. It’s filed under Lucy's plate, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

