Lucy in the Larder

Me, the coconut and some hot cakes

The coconut and I, we’re good friends. Great friends actually and have been for years. I drink its water religiously after my Bikram yoga classes – fresh young coconuts or the bottled stuff, I cook with its milk and cream and bake with its flesh. I think I even owned a coconut shell bra at some point (fancy dress of course). But coconut flour? Hello, I’m Lucy, I don’t believe we’ve ever met!

Coconut flour is made from fresh coconut meat and is a low carbohydrate, high-fibre and gluten-free alternative to wheat flour. The meat is dried and defatted and then finely ground into a powder very similar in consistency to wheat flour. Use 15-25% in place of other flours in most standard recipes.

It’s a grey old Sunday morning. I have washing to do and a filthy car that needs cleaning, but it’s really not the weather for it. I feel like something warm and sweet… I feel like hot cakes and I’m ready to get acquainted with the new bag of coconut flour in my cupboard.

Sourcing a recipe for my coconut hot cakes took some time and a bit of trial and error, but I’m really happy with these light fluffy cakes with the best recipe coming from a blog that’s new to me, Nourishing Days. I tend to drown things in butter these days – French butter – and today was no different. They were enjoyed with plenty of butter and honey, on the lounge, listening to The Cival Wars (still in my pyjamas).

Coconut hot cakes
Serves: 2; Prep time: 5 minutes; Cook time: 3 minutes

4 eggs, room temperature
1 cup milk (cow’s or coconut)
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 Tbsp honey or pinch of stevia
½ cup coconut flour
½ tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
Coconut oil or butter for frying

– Pre-heat pan over medium-low heat. In a small bowl beat eggs until frothy, about 2 minutes. Mix in milk, vanilla, and honey or stevia

– In a medium-sized bowl combine coconut flour, baking soda, and sea salt and whisk together. Stir wet mixture into dry until coconut flour is incorporated

– Grease pan with butter or coconut oil. Ladle a few tablespoons of batter into pan for each pancake. Spread out slightly with the back of a spoon. The pancakes should be 2-3 inches in diameter and fairly thick. Cook for a few minutes on each side, until the tops dry out slightly and the bottoms start to brown. Flip and cook an additional 2-3 minutes

– Serve hot with butter, coconut oil, honey, syrup, or fruit

This entry was published on May 20, 2012 at 7:44 pm. It’s filed under Delicious and healthy!, Lucy's plate, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “Me, the coconut and some hot cakes

  1. I must find myself some of this coconut flour, it sounds so yum. Thanks for a few ideas 😀

  2. Looks like the perfect way to get aquainted! Yum.

  3. Pingback: A little Coco-nutty granola « Lucy in the Larder

Leave a Reply

