Lucy in the Larder

A little Coco-nutty granola

I think I’ve gone a bit nuts lately… Coco-nuts. For some reason this week the coconut has made its way in to my stomach and cooking, more than I think is normal. Since my Coconut hot cakes last weekend I’ve pulled the recipe for a Coconut rice salad, there are some Roasted strawberry and coconut ice blocks setting in my freezer and I inhaled a packet of those Coconut chips yesterday – which like the packet says, are ‘irresistible’ but they’re full of sugar! I can probably include the consumption of one lamington in there too…

Which brings me to this morning. A particularly chilly Sunday. You know those ones when it’s even hard to lift your arms out from under the covers to check the time? It was one of those. I lay in bed wishing there was someone who could bring me the papers and a coffee so I could stay here in the warm sun that was creeping in.

Snap out of it Lucy, that’s not going to happen! So I did the next best thing – I made a batch of Coco-nutty granola from Sarah Wilson‘s brilliant new cookbook, ‘I Quit Sugar‘ (I’ll tell you more about this later). And while it’s roasting in the oven, I went for a walk to enjoy the sunshine.

This is my beach. Yes, I think anyone who lives within swimmers and towel walking distance to the beach, can call it their own. And this is when it’s at it’s best, when it’s empty.

My hands are still a little cold from my walk but I’m welcomed home by the smell of warm toasting coconut. The great thing about this granola is you can include any of your favorite nuts and seeds. It’s dead easy to make and best of all,  not full of sugar like the packet ones. I added wholemeal oats in my mix and enjoyed it with some Barambah organic yoghurt and fresh blueberries. Now back to that warm spot in the sun with the papers…

Coco-nutty granola 
Makes: 4-5 cups; Prep time: 5 minutes; Cook time: 20 minutes

4-5 Tbsp coconut oil (or butter melted)
3 cups coconut flakes
2 Tbsp chia seeds
1 tsp cinnamon (optional)
2 cups almonds, pecans, walnuts, cashews, pepitas (preferably activated), roughly chopped
3 Tbsp rice malt syrup (optional – if you prefer your granola a little sweet)

–       Preheat over to 120’C. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, spread evenly on baking paper on a tray and bake for approx 20 minutes until golden, turning halfway

–       When golden (the darker it is, the more crunchy it will be), remove and cool immediately

–       If you’re adding rolled oats, add 2 cups to the mix with the other ingredients and a little more oil and syrup

This entry was published on May 27, 2012 at 11:16 am. It’s filed under Delicious and healthy!, Lucy's plate, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

8 thoughts on “A little Coco-nutty granola

  1. The granola looks delicious…..and your beach is beautiful!

  2. I’ve seen so many variations on granola recently, this one sounds very nice indeed :). Makes me feel bad about my lack of breakfast.

  3. Pingback: a competition for all you bloggers out there | Sarah Wilson

  4. Pingback: Foolproof Fennel soup « Lucy in the Larder

  5. Pingback: Sugar-free toasted muesli baby! | Lucy in the Larder

  6. Does anyone know the calorie/nutritional content of this granola?

  7. Would you add the baby food tip from your muesli to this instead of sugar?

Leave a Reply

