Lucy in the Larder

My unofficial search for the ‘World’s Best Lamington’ – contestants #3 & #4

Taking my long-time love for the humble lamington to a new level, I’ve decided to embark on an unofficial search for the ‘World’s Best Lamington’. With the first two contestants already under my belt (literally), here’s a couple more…

Contestant #3  
Lamington ($4.50)
Single Origin Roasters – 60-64 Reservoir Street, Surry Hills NSW 2010 – 02 9693 2242 

I thought I’d see what came up when I typed “Best lamington, Sydney” in to Google. And really, not a lot.  But there were a couple of old blog posts that mentioned Single Origin Roasters in Surry Hills. So in the interest of research, that’s where I headed. Low and behold a single lamington sat lonely on the counter amongst the muffins, the last survivor from the morning rush and I knew it was a sign.

The yoga-clad green-tea-sipping ladies sitting at the table next door are giving disapproving looks to me and my lamington we don’t care. I was pleasantly suprised to cut into it and find the lovely strawberry jam later between the light fluffy sponge and look at those thick chocolatey edges! They’re the best bit. This one has easily moved in to first place.

Contestant #4  
Lamington ($3)
Vina Bakehouse – Eastgate Shopping Centre, Shop 15, Spring Street, Bondi Junction NSW 2022 – 02 9387 6702

Straight up, this fellow isn’t scoring any points in the beauty section of this contestant. The sponge is the size of a doorstop and there’s more desiccated coconut down my front that in my mouth. But, I’ve eaten this lamington more times than I care to admit, so he’s in the running.

Yeah, he’s old school and a little on the dry side but I have been known to pick around the softer chocolate soaked edges. There are Vina Bakehouse’s all over Sydney, so although not the best of the bunch, he’s fulfilled many a (my) need.

 
This entry was published on May 30, 2012 at 8:55 am. It’s filed under Lucy's plate, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “My unofficial search for the ‘World’s Best Lamington’ – contestants #3 & #4

  1. I had to look up Lamington when you first posted about them, because we don’t have them in California! But all your delectable photos make me think I should try them. I might try my hand at baking them! 🙂

  2. Love that you’re searching for the best lamington! I’m always searching for the ‘bests’ in Melbourne on google. I think I would have to taste test the best jelly slice or hot jam doughnut

  3. Pingback: My unofficial search for the ‘World’s Best Lamington’ – contestant #5 « Lucy in the Larder

Leave a Reply

