Lucy in the Larder

Foolproof Fennel soup

Is it too soon to be posting another soup recipe? Sorry, but this is what I do when it’s cold – make soup! I’ve just acquired a new e-cookbook, ‘I Quit Sugar’, by Sarah Wilson that I’m loving at the moment. I made her Coco-nutty granola the other weekend and this week – as the cold really sets in –  it’s her Foolproof Fennel soup. So tasty and super easy to make.

With recipe contributions from the likes of Gwenyth Paltow, Maggie Beer, Sarah Britton, Lee Holmes and Sally Fallon, the ‘I Quit Sugar Cookbook’ covers everything from breakfast ideas, snacks, kids treats and desserts.

I sat with Sarah at breakfast about a year ago – enjoying my fruit, fat-free yoghurt and museli, thinking how ‘healthy’ I was being – only to have her point out there was 5 spoonfuls of sugar in the first meal of my day.

What I like the most is Sarah’s practical (not preacher) approach to eliminating sugar from your diet. I didn’t realise it but I was addicted to the stuff, but not sugar in its refined white form – the hidden sugars and the ones I thought were ‘good’ for me. And as a sufferer of Hypothyroidism, I also didn’t realise just how much an effect sugar had on AI diseases.

So, if you’ve ever thought about quitting sugar or want to know more about why sugar is making us sick and fat (yes sugar), her book  ‘I Quit Sugar: A Simple 8 Week Program’ explains it all, or check her out on 60 Minutes this week.

… I know what you’re thinking – is it a bit contradictory to say all of this, and then post about the latest sugar-laden lamington I’ve devoured?? Well not really. I don’t pretend to enjoy a completely sugar-free diet, I think I’m just smarter about where my sugar comes from and ‘treats’ will always be that, a treat. Some great sweet sugar-free recipes that I always come back to are Sarah’s Cheesecake and Chocolate Nut Balls.

Foolproof Fennel soup 
Serves: 4; Prep time: 5 minutes; Cook time: 30 minutes

2 large fennel bulbs, sliced (reserve the leaves for garnish)
2 leeks, sliced
4 Tbsp butter
2 tsp fennel seeds (or mixture of fennel & anise seeds)
Splash of apple cider vinegar (or white wine)
6 cups chicken stock
2 cloves garlic, chopped
2 red potatoes, chopped (or cup of leftover rice)
Yoghurt (or sour cream or parmesan shavings)
4 slices pancetta
Salt & pepper

–       In a big pot, saute the fennel and leeks in butter until soft and add the seeds. Splash the apple cider vinegar in, stir a little, pour in the stock. Bring to the boil and add garlic and potatoes. Cover and simmer for 30 minutes. Blend with stab mixer

–       Fry or grill pancetta, let cool, then crumble

–       Serve the soup with a dollop of yoghurt, sour cream or parmesan shavings, pancetta crumble and snipped fennel leaves

This entry was published on June 8, 2012 at 9:30 pm. It’s filed under Delicious and healthy!, Lucy's plate, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Foolproof Fennel soup

  1. Sarah’s e-bookie great. She Spells it out so anyone can cut back on that white poison! It’s all about moderation people!

Leave a Reply

