Lucy in the Larder

My unofficial search for the ‘World’s Best Lamington’ – contestant #5

Perhaps I under estimated my ability to consume every lamington I came in to contact on my unofficial search for the ‘World’s Best Lamington’. This will be the fifth one that I’ve eaten as part of my, um, research?! And at the risk of sounding like a martyr, it’s hard work!

Contestant #5
Jam lamington ($5)
The Book Kitchen – 255 Devonshire Street, Surry Hills NSW 2010 – 0420 239 469

I can’t take credit for this lamington find – Sticky Vicky discovered it the search for a Triple-chocolate lamington recipe (she’s promised me a sample of one) from Gourmet Traveller that suggested The Book Kitchen. A quirky Surry Hills institution, The Book Kitchen, is bookstore-cum-restaurant that’s housed in a former mechanics workshed. They serve the best Single Origin coffee and their shelves are always piled high with new and second-hand antique books, in every genres of “gastronomic literary delight” that you can browse and buy. I will admit to calling ahead to make sure they had a lamington before heading there… imagine my disappointment otherwise!

It’s up there with the most expensive lamington I’ve sampled but it was worth every cent. I thought I was on to a winner at Single Origin Roasters, but this one now has a slight advantage – the sponge is airier, so it’s sucked up more chocolate coating and there’s also a little more jam.

This entry was published on June 18, 2012 at 3:40 pm. It’s filed under Lucy's plate, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

