Lucy in the Larder

My unofficial search for the ‘World’s Best Lamington’ – contestant #8

It’s been a long time between treats, of my favourite chocolate and coconut coated sponge kind. Too long in fact. So it’s with great pleasure that I bring you the latest contestant in my search for the World’s Best Lamington, all the way from the other side of the world.

Contestant #8
Mini lamingtons (GP 4.60)
Ottolenghi – 63 Ledbury Road, London, W11 2AD – 020 7727 1121

This one’s not just international, but earning some serious cred for hailing from one of my all-time favourite chefs and foodie crushes, Yotam Ottolenghi.

I honestly never thought we’d have an international entrant in my quest – who even knows what a lamington is outside our Australian boarders? So you can imagine my delight to find one in Notting Hill in London one chilly Tuesday morning. And how did they find their way over here? “Our creative director is an Aussie”, the Aussie waiters tells me. Gosh, we’re everywhere.

I was at Ottolenghi for breakfast, enjoying my bacon and egg pie when I spied the little box of them. And although I’m not one to need an excuse to eat sweets at any time of the day. I decided to spread the word of this national treasure and take them to share with my friend, Mnkey. At first he looked perplexed and asked me if ‘lamington’ was in fact a real word. And there was one missing by the time I arrived to meet him… oops. But he loved them. And I feel I’ve done a service to my country.

This entry was published on October 25, 2012 at 9:35 am. It’s filed under Lucy's plate, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “My unofficial search for the ‘World’s Best Lamington’ – contestant #8

  1. chocolatesuze on said:

    mmm love a good lamington!

  2. These look amazing! I love the little box they come packed in! Wonderful to encounter another lamington enthusiast on WordPress. My lamington search has not gone worldwide just yet, I’m starting small 🙂

    • Loving your blog. Maybe one day we can combine forces to create a nationwide search! Mine is really just an excuse to eat lots of lamingtons 😉

      • But of course! What other reason could there be to write a lamington blog 🙂
        I think we should join forces at some point, I can see the regional differences already – NSW lamingtons look a lot fancier!

Leave a Reply

