Lucy in the Larder

Sugar-free toasted muesli baby!

Ok, so I know I bang on about how much I love breakfast. But making this museli for dinner the other night was probably taking it a bit too far. To be honest, I didn’t have anything else to cook and I love a toasted museli and granola, but most are laden with sugar.

I make this toasty and warm sugar-free museli, and eat it all the time – just as a snack on it’s own (bad habit) or sprinkled on top of yoghurt or frozen berries when I need an after dinner treat. But I love it with fresh blueberries and milk for breakfast the most.

image

It takes inspiration from Sarah Wilson‘s Coconut granola and Sprouted Kitchen‘s Pumpkin and pecan granola. And I mix it up, depending on what nuts and seeds are in my cupboard, but it always has a base of oats (keep it gluten-free and use gluten-free oats).
My sweet secret… is baby food. It’s not really something I have lying around (as I’m yet to own any babies of my own and no, I’m not in the habit of stealing other peoples), but keeping it on hand is not as crazy as it sounds. Those little squeezy pouches of fruit and vegetable purees are a great cooks-cheat – taking the effort out of pureeing your own cooked fruit or veg, and most have no added sugars. I like the sweet potato, carrot and corn variety for my museli, but you could use the fruits like apples and pears for something sweeter.

image

Sugar-free toasted museli
Makes: approx 6 cups; Prep time: 5 minutes; Cook time: 20-25 minutes

2 cups rolled oats
240g sweet potato, carrot & corn puree
2 Tbsp sesame seeds
1 Tbsp chia seeds
3 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
1 Tbsp agave syrup
1 tsp cinnamon
¾ cup pecans, roughly chopped
¾ cup flaked almonds
½ cup shredded coconut
½ cup sultanas
½ tsp salt

– Pre-heat oven to 170’C
– In a large mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients (except the sultanas) and mix. In a separate small mixing bowl, combine all wet ingredients and mix. Combine the wet ingredients with the dry and stir until well coated
– Spread the mixture evenly onto a large baking sheet, lined with baking paper. Try to keep a few clusters intact for a chunkier museli
– Bake for approx 25 minutes, until the museli is dry and golden brown. Just keep an eye on it, and if the edges get too much colour, stir it around mixing the museli from the edges back into the centre and then spread it out again
– Let the museli cool for a few minutes, then add the sultanas. Allow to cool completely on the baking sheet before transferring to an airtight container. It will keep for about a week

This entry was published on February 28, 2013 at 9:38 pm. It’s filed under Delicious and healthy!, Lucy's plate, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

