Lucy in the Larder

Blueberry cornbread, just because

Is there ever a good excuse to make cornbread? If you have one please tell me. Because I made cornbread last weekend, blueberry cornbread with basil and lime, for no good reason other than I just wanted to. And maybe that’s reason enough.

image

I love corn and I love bread, so naturally I love cornbread – it’s cake-like gritty texture, that’s just a little bit sweet. I fell in love with a magical custard filled version I made a few years ago, so anything ‘cornbread’ related catches my eye. This is a recipe from a blog that I follow – palate/palette/plate, and it’s been sitting in my pile of things-to-make-to-eat for about 6 months now. It gives me great pleasure to work my way through though these (many) torn and printed pages of inspiration.

It was… “different”, “interesting”, “quite nice” some said. And although I’m not sure I’ll make it again, that’s what my food journey is all about, trying something new and eating it anyway!

image

Blueberry cornbread (palate/palette/plate)
Serves: 8; Prep time: 10 minutes; Cook time: 30-40 minutes

3/4 cup stone ground cornmeal
1/4 cup course corn grits
1/2 cup wholemeal flour
1/2 cup plain flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup olive oil
4 Tbsp lime juice
1 Tbsp lime zest
2 cups fresh corn kernels (from about 2 ears)
1/3 cup fresh basil, finely chopped
1 cup fresh blueberries

– Heat oven to 200’C. Coat cast iron frying pan (with heat proof handle) with olive oil and put in oven to heat

– Wash blueberries, pat dry, and sprinkle with 1 Tbsp flour. (This will prevent the berries from bleeding/sinking while the bread is baking)

– In a large bowl combine cornmeal, grits, flours, baking powder and salt. In a separate bowl whisk together eggs, buttermilk, honey, olive oil, lime juice and zest. Pour wet ingredients into dry and stir until just combined. Fold in 2 cups fresh corn, blueberries and about 1/3 cup chopped basil

– Remove hot frying pan from oven and pour in batter, spreading out evenly to the sides of the pan. Bake for 30-40 minutes until the edges are golden and a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool briefly in the pan, then loosen the edges with a spatula to release the bread from the pan and allow to cool completely before storing

This entry was published on March 27, 2013 at 10:07 pm. It’s filed under Delicious and healthy!, Lucy's plate, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

